Janina Özen-Otto

Gründerin der Ana Kwa Ana Stiftung.

Janina Özen-Otto wird 1973 in Hamburg geboren. Sie startet mit einer kaufmännischen Ausbildung ins Berufsleben; Groß- und Außenhandelskauffrau „Textil“ ist ihr erster Schritt in die weite Welt. Bevor es dann wirklich weit (und zuweilen wild) werden darf, zieht es sie an die Universität von Witten/Herdecke, wo sie Wirtschaftswissenschaften studiert und die vier Jahre dort erfolgreich als Diplomökonomin abschließt.

Bereits damals entwickelt Janina Özen-Otto ein — bis heute prägendes — Interesse an kulturpolitischen wie sozialen Themen, welche sie auf vielen Reisen vertieft. 2004 initiiert sie (u.a. in Kooperation mit dem WWF, der Welthungerhilfe und dem Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung) das Projekt „Cotton made in Africa“. Insgesamt sieben Jahre verbringt die Hamburgerin auf diesem Kontinent, engagiert sich zudem in den Bereichen Umweltschutz und Entwicklungshilfe.

2009 gründet sie die „ANA KWA ANA“-Stiftung, die sich der Förderung afrikanischer HIV/Aids-Waisen und Straßenkindern widmet, sowie Frauen in ihren Rechten und ihrer Selbständigkeit fördert. Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe ist hierbei die Maxime. Bis heute leitet Janina Otto diese Stiftung als Direktorin.

Zurück in ihrer Heimatstadt setzt sie neue berufliche Akzente, die ihre bisherige soziale Kompetenz und Erfahrung bereichern werden; sie studiert Psychotherapie und lässt sich zur Kunsttherapeutin weiterbilden. Die Beratung von Kindern und Jugendlichen aus prekärem familiärem Umfeld rückt zunehmend in den Fokus ihrer praktischen Tätigkeit.

Janina Özen-Otto

Founder of the Ana Kwa Ana Foundation.

Janina Otto was born in Hamburg in 1973. She started her professional life with a commercial apprenticeship as wholesaler and merchant for foreign trade, specialising in textiles. This was her first step into the wide world. Before moving to far flung shores, and things become somewhat wild, she felt drawn to study Business Economics at the University of Witten/Herdecke and obtained her degree four years later.

Already then Janina Otto developed a passionate interest in cultural-political and social affairs – an interest which has continued to shape her until today – and which she has continued to foster on many travels around the world. In 2004 (among others in cooperation with the WWF, Welthungerhilfe, and the Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development) she initiated the project “Cotton made in Africa.” She then spent a total of seven years away from Hamburg on this continent and additionally was engaged in environmental protection and development aid.

In 2009 she founded the ANA KWA ANA Foundation, which is dedicated to helping African HIV/Aids orphans and street children, as well as promoting the rights and independence of women. The maxim being “help to self-help.” Still today Janina Otto leads this organisation as Director.

Returning home to her native city of Hamburg she moved into a new professional field, which enriched her social competence and experience, by studying psychotherapy and qualifying herself as an art therapist. The counselling of disadvantaged young children and adolescents from a vulnerable family background has increasingly become the focus of her daily work.