Dr. rer.nat. Dipl.-Geograph J. Daniel Dahm

Senior Advisor

Dr. J. Daniel Dahm widmet sich seit Anfang der 1990er Jahre der (Re)Generation – dem (Wieder-)Aufbau – der materiellen und immateriellen Lebensgrundlagen der Menschheit.

Als Gründer und Geschäftsführer von United Sustainability (United Sustainability GmbH und United Sustainability Holding GmbH), zielt er auf strategische (Impact-) Investitionen zur Renaturierung und Restoration natürlicher Lebensgrundlagen sowie den Aufbau nachhaltiger Infrastrukturen für Menschen und Gesellschaften. Am Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies IASS, Potsdam forscht er als Senior Fellow zu den geistigen Grundlagen von Nachhaltigkeit, hier insbesondere zu den ökologischen und kulturellen Wechselwirkungen zwischen Biogeosphäre und Anthroposphäre und ihrer Realisierungen in Politik, Gesellschaft und (Finanz-)Wirtschaft. Als Vorsitzender der Jury der Internorga Messe verleiht er jährlich den „Internorga Future Award“ für die HMC Hamburg Messe u. Congress GmbH.

Neben seinem Engagement als Senior Advisor des World Future Councils ist er Mitglied der German Association Club of Rome, Mitglied des Wissenschaftsrats der Economy for the Common Good (Gemeinwohlökonomie), Beisitzer des Vorstands der Vereinigung für Ökologische Ökonomie VÖÖ, Mitglied der Vereinigung Deutscher Wissenschaftler VDW, sowie Mitglied des Scientific Committee des Colloqui di Martina Franca in Apulien, Italien.

Zuvor war er Vize-Direktor und Forschungsleiter des European Centre for Sustainability Research ECS der Zeppelin Universität, langjährig Wissenschaftler am Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie GmbH, Forschungsleiter am Institut für Haushalts- und Konsumökonomik der Universität Hohenheim, Research Fellow for Science in Innovation am Natural History Museum, London, sowie in diversen wissenschaftlichen Funktionen an Universitäten und internationalen Forschungseinrichtungen tätig. Am Beirat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung des Landes Brandenburg war er Mitglied im „AK Nachhaltige Finanzpolitik“. 2008 berief ihn die BMW Foundation Herbert Quandt zum Fellow for Responsible Leadership, 2000 verlieh ihm die Schweisfurth Stiftung den Forschungspreis für Ökologische Ökonomie (heute Kapp-Preis).

Als (Co-)Gründer verschiedener Unternehmen, zivilgesellschaftlicher Organisationen und Stiftungen brachte er seit den 2000er Jahren diverse Unternehmen, zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen und Stiftungen auf den Weg, u.a. ab 2007 das Internetportal Utopia.de und die Utopia-Stiftung, 2008 das Ökosoziale Forum Deutschland, 2009 die Desertec Foundation, 2011 mit der HMC Hamburg Messe u. Congress die erste Messe für nachhaltige Konsumgüter weltweit (goodgoods), 2013 die weltweit erste Messe für nachhaltiges Design (ecostyle),

Daniel Dahm publizierte über 50 wissenschaftliche Artikel und Buchbeiträge, sein aktueller Buchtitel ist 2019 die „Benchmark Nachhaltigkeit. Sustainability Zeroline. Maß einer zukunftsfähigen Ökonomie“.

Dr rer.nat. Dipl.-Geograph J. Daniel Dahm

Senior Advisor

Dr. J. Daniel Dahm dedicates his work since the 1990s to the (re)generation and restoration of humanities (material and immaterial) common livelihoods.

As founder and CEO of United Sustainability (United Sustainability GmbH and United Sustainability Holding GmbH) he focusses on strategic (impact-) investments for the renaturation and restoration of our natural resources, as well as on the buildup of sustainable infrastructures for human needs. At the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies IASS, Potsdam, he studies as Senior Fellow the cultural and spiritual fundaments of the anthropocene, especially the ecological and cultural interdependencies between biogeosphere and anthroposphere and their realization in politics, society and economy. As chaiman of the jury of the Internorga exhibition fair he grants annually the „Internorga Future Award“ for the HMC Hamburg Messe u. Congress GmbH.

Beside his engagement as Senior Advisor for the World Future Council, he is member of the German Association Club of Rome, member of the Scientific Council of the Economy for the Common Good (Gemeinwohloekonomie), assessor of the board of the Association for Ecological Economics VÖÖ, member of the Federation of German Scientists VDW, member of the Scientific Committee of the Colloqui di Martina Franca, Apulia, Italy.

Formerly he was vice-director and research leader at the European Centre for Sustainability Research ECS, Zeppelin University, for many years research fellow at Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment, Energy, research leader at the Institute for Household and Consumer Politics, University Hohenheim, Research Fellow for Science in Innovation at the Natural History Museum, London, and in diverse scientific functions in universities and international research institutions. At the Council for the Sustainable Development of the Federal State Brandenburg he was member in the expert group  „Sustainable Financial Policy“. 2008 he was named by the BMW Foundation Herbert Quandt as Fellow for Responsible Leadership, 2000 he received the Award for Ecological Economics by the Schweisfurth Foundation (known as Kapp-Award).

As (co-)initiator he founded since 2000 various corporations, organizations and foundations, i.a. 2007 Utopia.de and Utopia-Foundation, 2008 das Ecosocial Forum Germany, 2009 Desertec Foundation, 2011 with HMC Hamburg Messe u. Congress the first international exhibition fair for sustainable consume goods (goodgoods), 2013 the first international exhibition fair for sustainable design (ecostyle),

Daniel Dahm published over 50 scientific articles and book contributions, his actual book is released 2019, „Benchmark Nachhaltigkeit. Sustainability Zeroline. Maß einer zukunftsfähigen Ökonomie“.