Anna R. Oposa

Mitbegründerin, Save Philippine Seas und Global Shaper, Manila Hub, World Economic Forum

Anna R. Oposa ist eine vielseitige „Changemakerin“ und am besten bekannt als Mitbegründerin von Save Philippine Seas (SPS), einer Bewegung, die sich mit Informations-, Bildungs- und Kommunikationsaktivitäten und lokalen Projekten für den Erhalt und die Wiederherstellung der Meeres- und Küstenressourcen einsetzt. 2012 gründete Anna das Shark Shelter Projekt, das die lokale Gemeinde vin Daanbantayan, Cebu beim Schutz der Fuchshaie und ihrer Umweltressourcen unterstützt. 2015 gründete sie das Sea and Earth Advocates Camp zusammen mit der US Botschaft in den Philippinen, ein Programm das jugendliche Filipinas und Filipinos mit nachhaltiger Bildung und Leiterschaftsprogrammen zu Führungskräften für den Umwelterhalt ausbildet. Bis heute hat das SEA Camp über 200 jugendliche Führungskräfte in den Philippinen und Südostasien ausgebildet.

Anna hat ihr Bachelorstudium in Anglistik an der University of the Philippines cum laude absolviert und schloss ihren MSC in Conservation Studies am Imperial College London (Merit) mit dem Chevening Stipendium ab. 2017 gehörte sie zu den drei Global Fellows für Meeresschutz des Duke University Marine Labatory.

Neben der Gründung von SPS war Anna auch als Beraterin für die Kommission für Klimawandel, die Asiatische Entwicklungsbank, des Philippine Business for Environment, Oceana und die Purpose Business Ltd. tätig und hat als Co-Autorin an einem Übungssbuch mit dem Titel An Introduction to Climate Change for Filipino Youth mitgewirkt.

2011 kürte Yahoo! Südostasien die damals 23-jährige Anna als eine der sieben inspirierenden philippinischen Helden der Gegenwart für ihren couragierten Einsatz für den Umwelterhalt. Ein Jahr später erhielt Anna den Future for Nature Award in den Niederlanden und wurde damit zur ersten Filipina und jüngsten Preisträgerin. Mit 25 Jahren wurde sie von Devex als eine der 40 internationalen Führungspersönlichkeiten für Entwicklung unter 40 ernannt. Sie war ebenfalls Gründungsmitglied des Global Shapers Manile Hubs und besetzte später die Positionen Vice-Kuratorin und Kuratorin. Sie ist als „Global Shaper“ des Weltwirtschaftsforums tätig, und nahm als eine der ersten „Global Shaper“ 2012 an der Jahresversammlung in Davos, Schweiz teil.

Annas Leidenschaften gelten dem Optimismus, dem Schutz von Haien, der Jugendförderung, dem Langstreckenschwimmen auf offenem Gewässer, den Einwegstrohhalm-freien Philippinen und oxybenzonfreier Sonnencreme.

Mehr über SPS unter www.savephilippineseas.org oder auf Facebook unter www.facebook.com/savephilippineseas

Anna R. Oposa

Co-Founder, Save Philippine Seas and Global Shaper, Manila Hub, World Economic Forum.

Anna R. Oposa is a multi-hyphenated changemaker who is best known for being the Co-Founder and Chief Mermaid of Save Philippine Seas (SPS), a movement to conserve and restore the Philippines’ coastal and marine resources through information, education, and communication activities and community-based projects. In 2012, Anna founded the Shark Shelter Project, which builds the capacity of local communities in Daanbantayan, Cebu, to protect thresher sharks and their coastal and marine resources. In 2015, she founded the Sea and Earth Advocates Camp in partnership with the U.S. Embassy in the Philippines, an environmental education and leadership program that empowers young Filipinos to be leaders in conservation. To date, the SEA Camp has trained over 200 youth leaders in the Philippines and Southeast Asia.

Anna graduated with a BA in English Studies from the University of the Philippines (cum laude), and obtained her MSc in Conservation Science from Imperial College London (Merit) through the Chevening scholarship. In 2017, she was one of the three Global Fellows for Marine Conservation of the Duke University Marine Laboratory.

Outside SPS, she has served as a consultant for the Climate Change Commission, Asian Development Bank, Philippine Business for the Environment, Oceana, and the Purpose Business Ltd., and has co-written a workbook entitled An Introduction to Climate Change for Filipino Youth.

In 2011, Yahoo! Southeast Asia recognized Anna, then 23 years old, as one of the seven inspiring modern-day Filipino heroes for her courageous efforts in environmental conservation. A year later, Anna received the Future for Nature Award in the Netherlands, making her the first Filipino and youngest recipient of the award. At 25 years old, she was named one of Devex’s 40 International Development Leaders Under 40. She was also a founding member of the Global Shapers Manila Hub, and later held the positions of Vice-Curator and Curator. She was one of the first Global Shapers to be invited to the 2012 Annual Meeting of the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland.

Anna is passionate about being optimism, protecting sharks, youth empowerment, long-distance open water swims, a single-use straw-free Philippines, lipsticks, and oxybenzone-free sunscreen. Learn more about SPS at www.savephilippineseas.org, or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/savephilippineseas.