The Council

The World Future Council (WFC) consists of up to 50 respected personalities from all five continents. They represent governments, parliaments, the arts, civil society, academia and the business world. Together they form a voice for the rights of future generations. You can find the biographies of all Councillors as well as Honorary Councillors below.

WFC Councillors at AGM 2013 in Bonn © World Future Council


Hafsat Abiola-Costello

Founder, Kudirat Initiative for Democracy (KIND)

Dr. Ibrahim Abouleish

Founder, SEKEM

Monique Barbut

Executive Secretary, UN Convention to Combat Desertification and former CEO and Chairperson, Global Environment Facility

Maude Barlow

Former first Senior Advisor to the UN on water issues to the President of the UN General Assembly

Dipal Chandra Barua

Co-founder of the Grameen Bank, Founding Manager of the Grameen Shakti, Founder and Chairman of the Bright Green Energy Foundation

Ana María Cetto

Research professor of the Institute of Physics and lecturer at the Faculty of Sciences, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Shuaib Chalklen

Former United Nations Special Rapporteur on Disability, South Africa

Tony Colman

Director, Africapractice

Marie-Claire Cordonier Segger

Director, Centre for International Sustainable Development Law (CISDL); Senior Director, Sustainable Prosperity

Thais Corral

Co-founder, Women's Environment and Development Organization

Nicholas Dunlop

Co-founder and Secretary General, Climate Parliament

Prof. Dr. Hans Peter Dürr (d. 2014)

Nuclear physicist and philosopher

Prof. Dr. Tewolde Berhan G. Egziabher

Director General, Environmental Protection Authority, Ethiopia

Riane Eisler

President, Centre for Partnership Studies

Dr. Scilla Elworthy

Founder, Oxford Research Group, Founder, Peace Direct

María Fernanda Espinosa

Permanent Representative of Ecuador to the UN

Anda Filip

Director for Member Parliaments and External Relations at the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU)

Dr. Sándor Fülöp

Former Parliamentary Commissioner for future generations in Hungary

Prof. Rafia Ghubash

President, Arab Network for Women, Science and Technology, former President, Arabian Gulf University

Luc Gnacadja

Former Executive Secretary of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification

Daryl Hannah

Actress and advocate for a sustainable world

Ashok Khosla

Chairman, Centre for Development Alternatives

Prof. Dr. Rolf Kreibich

Former Scientific and Managing Director, Institute for Future Studies and Technology Assessment

David Krieger

President, Nuclear Age Peace Foundation

Alexander Likhotal

President, Green Cross International

Wanjira Maathai

Chair, Green Belt Movement; Project Leader, Wangari Maathai Institute for Peace & Environmental Studies

Dr. Rama Mani

Senior Research Associate, Centre for International Studies, University of Oxford & Vice Chair, Academic Council on the United Nations System

Julia Marton-Lefèvre

Director General of IUCN

Prof. Dr. Manfred Max-Neef

Pioneer of 'Barefoot Economics'

Jan McAlpine

Former Director, United Nations Forum on Forests Secretariat

Frances Moore Lappé

Founder, Small Planet Institute

Dr. Auma Obama

Founder and Director of the “Sauti Kuu Foundation”; Board Member of the Jacobs Foundation

Anna Oposa

Co-Founder, Save Philippine Seas

Dr. Katiana Orluc

Middle Eastern expert; visiting scholar at the Centre for European Studies at Harvard University

Ahmedou Ould-Abdallah

President, Centre of Strategies and Security in the Sahel Sahara

Sirpa Pietikäinen

Member of European Parliament and former Minister of Environment

Dr. Vithal Rajan

Founder, Trustee of Agriculture Man Ecology [AME], Foundation of India

Prof. Dr. Vandana Shiva

Founder, Research Foundation for Science, Technology and Ecology

Sulak Sivaraksa

Co-founder, International Network of Engaged Buddhists

Pavan Sukhdev

Founder-CEO of GIST Advisory

Prof. Motoyuki Suzuki

Professor Emeritus, University of Tokyo, Japan

Pauline Tangiora

Maori elder, Rongomaiwahine Tribe

Alyn Ware

Founder and international coordinator of the Network Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament (PNND)

Judge C. G. Weeramantry

Former Vice-President, International Court of Justice

Francisco Whitaker

Co-founder, World Social Forum

Anders Wijkman

Vice-President, the Club of Rome; Former President, GLOBE EU; former UN Assistant Secretary General

Honorary Councillors

Patrus Ananias

Former Brazilian Minister of Social Development and the Fight against Hunger

Ahmed Djoghlaf

Former Executive Secretary of the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD)

Prof. Herbert Girardet

Co-Founder, World Future Council

Dr. Olivier Giscard D'Estaing

Chairman of the INSEAD Foundation, of the European League for Economic Co-operation France and of the COPAM (Comite pour un Parlement Mondial)

Jane Goodall, Ph.D., DBE

Founder of the Jane Goodall Institute and UN Messenger of Peace

Prof. Dr. Wangari Maathai (d. 2011)

Founder, Green Belt Movement

Sir James R. Mancham

Founding President of the Republic of Seychelles, President of the Global Peace Council of the Universal Peace Federation

Dr. Gertrude Ibengwé Mongella

Former President of the Pan-African Parliament

Dr. Michael Otto

Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Otto Group

The Hon. Arthur N.R. Robinson (d. 2014)

Former President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

Prof. Dr. Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker

Co-Chair, International Panel for Sustainable Resource Management

Barbara Woschek

Benefactress and Initiator of the Ending Violence against Women and Girls Project

Support our work!

Stay in touch!

 Subscribe to our newsletter

Learn more!